Banana Blueberry & Coconut Muffins, Paleo Style

Happy Weekend!

Now that I’m out of law school (well, for the summer), I’ve found that I have so much more time to bake!  As a new Paleo, I’ve obviously found myself craving yummy non-paleo foods; BUT I have trying to either search for recipes online or have been inventing it as I go along.  This is one of those times.

Most muffins ask for baking powder, which really isn’t paleo, so to get around that I’ve found that baking soda & organic cream of tartar works as a nice substitute, I’ve also picked up a flour substitute (coconut flour) which since its super high fiber you don’t need as much of.

Well, enough of the talking, here’s the recipe!

3 Bananas

1 Egg

1 c. Blueberries

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

1 tsp. baking soda

1/3 c. of coconut oil

1 c. of coconut flour

12 organic cupcake liners

Mash three ripe bananas in a large mixing bowl.    And the egg, blueberries and mix.  In another bowl, add the tartar & baking soda to the coconut flour.  Add the dry ingredients into the wet ones.  Mix well.  Next heat up the coconut oil and add into the batch.  Mix, Mix, Mix! When it’s done mixing well, pour into ORGANIC muffin liners.  I’m telling you, you don’t need to grease them (time saver) & well they’re good for the environment!

Finally bake at 375 for 20 mins.  Let them cool for a bit and then serve!

20130615-155645.jpg

20130615-155703.jpg

Leave a Reply

